Where It All Began

When I was about 12 years old I was given a nickname that would stick with me forever… It is a nickname that when people hear it they give me this strange look and question it. I mean I understand why they question it, so I do have a story to explain the nickname. 

This nickname that I speak of is… Chubby. Any form of that works though so Chub, Chubs, or Chubby, whatever flows you know?   Some people would probably take offense to being called this name but for me I never have. Here’s why. When I was about 12 years old my family and I took a trip to Chicago in the summer to visit my little cousin in the hospital. He had been there all summer having various surgeries done for his heart. During one of our last trips to the hospital, the doctors released my cousin for a little bit before his open heart surgery that was coming up. He had really wanted Chicago deep dish pizza so we went on the search for a good pizza place. When we found one and all got seated and ordered our pizza the waiter started asking questions about our visit. We told him why we were there and then he asked all our names. So of course we all went around and said our names. Apparently when I stated my name, Shelby, it was unclear to him. He thought I said Chubby. Through out our entire meal he never questioned me but kept giving me questioning looks. When he came by at the end to give us our bill he looked at me and said, “I’m sorry, but I have to ask. Why do they call you Chubby? You are not chubby at all!” My family and I all started laughing and then I told him my name very clearly and he apologized for the misunderstanding. My little cousin could not stop laughing and just thought it was the funniest thing that they waiter thought my name was Chubby. So he kept calling me that and well eventually everyone was calling me that and it stuck.

I was little and it was the first time I had seen my cousin that happy all summer. So I just went with the name. Now I am 20 years old and my friends and family all call me Chubby. Now the name makes a bit more sense because I love food and eating. I consider myself a huge food junkie.

It’s strange because when I was little and actually up until a few years ago, I was one of the pickiest eaters I knew. Now, I will eat just about anything except fish.  I am still picky about certain things but I am working on opening up my horizons when it comes to ‘out of the box’ food.

So this blog will be about all the food I encounter here in St. Louis and hopefully inspiring you to try some of it and now you know why it is called Chub’s Food Journal! I hope that you continue to follow along with me while I tell you all about my food adventures!

Happy eating until next time,

Chubs.

Leave a Reply

