Home Grown

We all love a little piece from home right? As a college student, I cannot help but appreciate a well cooked meal now a days, especially when it is made by Mom and comes straight from the family farm. On Sunday, I was feeling a little homesick so I decided to take a trip home and my lovely mom made a wonderful dinner that had a little bit of a surprise to it.

When I arrived at my house in the early afternoon on Sunday, I found my Mom in the kitchen preparing dinner. Smoked chicken, corn casserole, and chocolate pie were on the menu for the evening.  However, what I didn’t know what was going to be served was lamb chops and lamb burgers.

I grew up on a farm, so we always had several different animals roaming around and my family would always trick me into eating something that I did not always want to eat. Now, I usually just eat whatever is in front of me and pray that it tastes decent, at home anyways.

Sunday was not the first time that my family had cooked lamb so I have had it one or two times before but I don’t divulge in this meat all the time. On Sunday, I thought it was just a regular hamburger patie but after I bit into it I realized I was mistaken.  My brother loves lamb so anything he can do with lamb he usually does.

This was the first time that I had lamb in the form of a patty and I have to say it was pretty good. My brother coated them with a brown sugar spread that made the patty have a bit of a sweet taste which was strangely odd. I just ate mine plain but one could probably eat it on a bun or with some barbecue sauce. My brother was oh so kind and let me take some home for my lunch the next day and it was just as good as the night before!

The smoked chicken that my Mom made turned out delicious as well, however, I do believe that the star of the meal was the chocolate pie. I am usually always in the mood for any type of dessert but pie has to be in the top 3 of my favorite desserts. When I was younger, my mom used to have a pie business on the side but I never appreciated them like I do. Wow, do I wish that she still had that side business so she could make them a lot more often! However, when she does make them every now and again I make sure to savor it a little bit more.

Dinner with my family is something that I will always treasure since we are all on our own now and are only able to get together every once in awhile. Anytime I can make it home for a family dinner, I try my best to do so.

Until next time,

Chubs.

IMG_5215

One thought on “Home Grown

  1. Lynda Scott says:

    Very good Shelby. I’m not a lover of lamb, but the rest of it sounds great. You managed to make me really hungry. Kyle amazes me with the dishes (mostly meat) that he comes up with, I just wish he would make some for his G Ma!! Look forward to the next blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

