54th Street Lovin’

The past couple of years for my birthday, there is only one place that I have wanted to go. With the restaurant only being in four main areas some of you may not have heard of it but one of my favorites is named 54th Street Grill and Bar. It is a tradition for me on my birthday for many reasons.

54th Street was also a place I used to go to in high school with my volleyball teammates and holds a lot of memories for me. I can remember one time during my senior year of high school, we went to 54th Street after practice and I just remember laughing so hard. Myself and my friend ordered the appetizer platter and ate the whole thing… and appetizer platter is meant to be for 3 to 4 people. This platter though was our whole meal and we were hungry, growing girls so it was acceptable! Right?

Either way, we finished this platter and were quite proud of our selves. I can’t remember the exact thing that made me laugh so hard but a lot of the times it didn’t take much for us to laugh. We were always so goofy around each other and always having the best time and laughing at something. Now that we are older, we sometimes like to go back to this place when we are all back in town.

For my 18th birthday I had wanted to go to 54th street for dinner with friends and family and that is when the tradition of going really started. I like to go to 54th Street anytime I can but my birthday is especially great because they give me free chocolate lava cake with ice cream! A lot of places do give out free stuff on birthdays but I have never received a lava cake like I have from 54th Street. So now I like to go there for a early dinner, share my lava cake with everyone and then go back to my house for my moms birthday cake! Birthdays are all about the cake after all.

Another favorite of mine there is the Gringo Dip. It is a special to 54th Street and one that I have attempted to re create. So this where the food part of this blog comes in. The Gringo dip is a creamy pepper jack cheese mixed with pico de gallo and other ingredients including chopped spinach and queso blanco cheese.

The dip was actually quite easy to make and only took about 15 minutes. I would say that dip did not taste exactly like the Gringo Dip in that the one I made was more spicy. Other than the spice of the dip everything else tasted similar! I served the dip with waffle fries rather than tortilla  chips like they do at 54th Street. The recipe made a lot of the dip as well so I even have left overs for the rest of the week! I would say that I would make this recipe again and I think it went over pretty well with my friends!

image

Here’s the recipe for the dip:

  • 1 lb Velveeta Queso Blanco, cubes
  • 1 cup pepper jack cheese, shredded or cubed
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan
  • 16 oz container pico de gallo
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp cayenne
  • 10 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained

Warm the cheeses, pico, milk and cayenne in a saucepan and stir until completely melted! Then add the spinach, taking care to separate the leave. That is it, that’s all you have to do!

It’s a easy dip and tasty as well! If it is too spicy you can dull it down by making the cayenne pepper amount smaller.

Hope you all enjoy it!

Until next time,

Chubs.

Leave a Reply

