Fondue for… Five

I have been home form Switzerland for quite some time now and there are days that I would do anything to go back. However, I am a broke college student and can’t afford to just go back so I have to improvise. One of my all time favorite foods when I was abroad was Switzerland’s Cheese fondue and so to improvise I found a fondue pot in my mom’s basement and some swiss cheese at a international grocery store! Here’s what happened….

I rounded up my friends who studied abroad with me and invited them to come over for a fondue party! I melted the cheese directly in the fondue pot with inferno heat (canned heat) and kept a watchful eye on it. As it started melting, I would continuously stir. I eventually added a little dry white wine to it to make the cheese not as thick. How much wine you add is completely up to you and personal preference.

While the cheese was melting, pork chops and small steaks were being cooked. I also got bread and cut that into bite size pieces. Any type of bread is good with the cheese and once again it is personal preference on what you get. I got plain french bread and herb and garlic bread to add a little variety. I also warmed up some little hot dogs to dip in the cheese. My friend also added some broccoli but I am not a fan of that so I can’t say how well that went with the cheese. Salami was also on the platter of items being dipped in the cheese.

As you can see we had a lot of items to dip in the cheese but my favorite was the steak and pork chops. The cheese and steak was a nice combination and went very well together. The bread is always good as well. In my opinion, you just cannot go wrong with bread and cheese. The meal was very fulfilling as well. I was so full afterward I could barely move. The bread and cheese is what fills you up so quick I think.

IMG_5746 IMG_5745

After we cleared the table of all of the cheese fondue we then started up the chocolate fountain. At first, I thought the chocolate fountain was a really cool idea but after it was all said and done I would have to think differently. Do not get me wrong, the chocolate fountain and all the items we dipped in it were delicious. (Strawberries, apples, marshmallows, angel food cake, etc.)

What they don’t tell you though is how messy the chocolate fountain is and how hard it is to clean. I am here to tell you that if you are up for an hour  of cleaning the dang thing after than be my guest but be warned, it is hard work.

IMG_5761

^The after shot of the chocolate fountain…

The night overall though was a huge success and so much fun! I will most definitely being doing the cheese fondue again the next time I am missing Switzerland desperately.

Until next time,

Chubs.

 

 

One thought on “Fondue for… Five

Leave a Reply

