The Fantastic 5 Cookie 

“Mom, can you make cookies today?” My brother asks while he is starting his homework before thanksgiving break is over. My brother and I are both in our 20’s and still ask our mom to make cookies for us when we just need a little motivation to get through the day.

My mom replies with what kind and my brother and I go back and forth on what cookie she should make today. I vote for chocolate chip and he votes for gooey butter. He ends up winning because he is the one with a lot of homework. (I’m saving all of mine for tomorrow)

My mom rattles the recipe off the top of her head for gooey butter cookies to make sure we have all of the ingredients. I’m not even paying attention to the ingredients as I’m amazed that she just knows the recipe. I still have to use recipes for everything.

My brother and I run to the store to get the last ingredient that was missing and then get to work making the cookies.

Here’s what you need for the basic gooey butter cookie:

  • 1 box of yellow cake mix
  • 1 stick/ 1/2 cup of butter
  • 8 oz of cream cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix them all together and then chill for about an hour.

Once chilled, roll the dough into a ball and then roll in powdered sugar. Once the powdered sugar is on, place them on the cookie sheet.

Preheat oven to 350 and bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool for a bit before eating. Waiting is the hardest part but worth it when you get to enjoy a delicious cookie made with love by momma bear.


Until next time,

Chubs.

One thought on “The Fantastic 5 Cookie 

  1. Lynda Scott says:

    You just reminded me I need to get busy on Christmas cookies! Hope you can join your mom and I for a cookie baking day this year. Was good to see you and Kyle both at Thanksgiving. I was a great day with so much to be thankful for. Keep those blogs coming, I love em and you too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

