The Dinner Pie 

So I have been on a taco kit lately. Even on Pinterest, all the suggested recipes have been some form of taco or had a taco component to them. The one that caught my eye the other day was called Frito Taco Pie. The recipe was super simple, I was even able to put this together on complete spur of the moment. I did have some help though… 

My roommate and I were sitting on our coach the other day contemplating what to do for lunch. We didn’t have any leftovers and didn’t want something boring. That’s when I thought of this pie! 

We had the main ingredients but needed the actual crust for the pie. This is where my handy dandy roommate came in to help me. She cooked the taco meat while I went to go get the remaining ingredients! 

For this wonderful pie you will need: 

  • 1 lb. hamburger meat 
  • Taco seasoning 
  • 1 package of crescent rolls 
  • Frito corn chips
  • Sour cream 
  • Cheese 
  • Optional toppings: lettuce, diced tomatoes, or any other taco toppings you desire 

You start by browning the beef and making the taco mixture (Follow instructions on back of packet). Once that is done you will set it aside and start assembling the pie. 

Undo the crescent roll package and unroll the crescent rolls. You will place all 8 of the pieces in a circular pie pan with the skinny end in the middle. Once you have all the pieces in the pan, use your fingers to compress the dough to fill the bottom of the pan. This will create your crust for the pie. 

You will then layer Fritos on the bottom. I used as many to just cover the bottom. 

Then the taco meat! This part is easy, I used all the meat and it covered it perfectly. 

After the taco meat is on you will spread sour cream on top of the meat. As much or as little as you desire! 

Then the cheese is sprinkled on top! We put a lot of cheese of top but it’s just personal preference. 

Your pie is now complete and perfectly assembled! Stick it in the oven at 350 for 25-30 minutes! 

   

You will know the pie is done when the crescent rolls are cooked through (which you can find out by cutting through the pie) 

  
I didn’t use any measurements for this recipe and just kind of winged the whole thing as I was on a bit of a time crunch but really wanted to try this recipe! It turned out really good though I thought. 

A little piece of advice I offer though is to make sure that the crust is evenly spread out to the best of your ability. I was in a bit of a rush and had more crescent roll in some spots than in another. This only caused trouble when trying to cut the pie though. 

Can I just say that sometimes the hardest part of these recipes is then getting it out of the pan in a decent manner to take a picture of it. It will look so good in the pan and then I try to take it out of the pan and it just completely falls apart. 

Can’t win them all though I guess. 

Until next time,

Chubs. 

Leave a Reply

